Flowers in February . . .

 “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.”               Ecclesiastes 3:1

202f4a1532257718f66c78cabf378b95

 

For all you folks out there that don’t understand why the title of this blog is significant, let me explain. I live in Michigan.

February in Michigan usually consists of three things–perhaps four: cold temperatures, wind, snow, and often freezing rain/sleet/ice storms. Some of the worst ice storms I can remember happened in the month of February.

That is why this year’s weather has me baffled.

The other day I stepped out onto our back deck. I didn’t have to wear a coat–or even a jacket. There was abundant sunshine and 60 degree weather to greet me. What did I find? My crocus plants are peeking their little green heads through the dirt. And my yellow anemones are blossoming. There were robins and mourning doves singing all around my yard–which by the way, has no snow covering it.

Oh, and have I mentioned we’ve also been having thunderstorms?

Very strange.

Don’t get me wrong. I’m not complaining. In fact, I love the notion of an early spring–although, in the past an early spring meant it arrived sometime in March. Not February.

The realist in my knows, however that this is only Mother Nature teasing us. We still have the rest of February to get through and the entire month of March. And it’s not unusual to get heavy snows in March. As a matter of fact, the only time I slid my car off the road and into the ditch was during a snowstorm on St. Patrick’s day in 1973.

So, I’m going to enjoy each warm day we have and not complain when winter returns–as we all know it will.

Enjoy these last days of February–no matter what area of the country you’re in. And I pray for an early spring (a real one) for all of us!

God bless!

Ruth Kyser

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

